Bering Sea Superstorm – It’s Been Named!

The wind is picking up.  The schools are closed.  Most of the businesses are closed down.  The wind is whistling.  I decided to take a walk.

I donned my heavy bunny boots, snow pants, jacket, face mask, seal skin mitts, and hat and stepped outside.  My first stop was our neighbor’s yard where a few things were blowing around.  The sled was wedged between our house and the fuel tank and I decided that was as good a place as any.

I then walked towards the ocean.  A light barely happening snow spray hit my face, but all in all it just felt like a great super windy day.  The streets are covered in hard packed wind swept snow so my biggest concern was not slipping.  I crossed the street to the ocean and checked out the waves – nothing compared to ones I’ve seen in the past, but indeed the surf is much higher than normal – right up to the rock sea wall.  The restaurant next to where I stood was boarded up.  I took a photo and a little not-very-exciting video clip and then went and checked my mail at the Post.

Afterwards I walked back towards home into the face of a couple intense gusts that caused me to really buckle down and lean into the wind.  I also had a few side gusts that caused me to crab hop to the side trying to regain my balance.  And then I had a great gust from the back that made my legs kick forward.  And I proceeded to walk over to the local Milano’s restaurant where the family was inside watching The Weather Channel.

I ordered a coffee shake with Oreos, watched the news coverage and then came home and greeted my husband with the rest of my shake and a smile on my face.

Winds and storms are refreshing and fun.  At this level.  Reading of what may come has my stomach a bit queasy.

The Washington Post has an article that has a few key lines that cause one to pause:

“A ferocious, dangerous storm in the north Pacific is on a collision course with the west coast of Alaska”

“Sustained winds of 80 mph (with gusts to 90 mph in some locations) may impact an area the size of Colorado with offshore waves to more than 40 feet ”

“A direct hit is forecast for Nome, Alaska where the conditions will resemble a snow hurricane.”

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/capital-weather-gang/post/historic-a…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

